Committee Co-Chairs

Throughout the year, co-chairs work with their counterparts from the Commission Sonora-Arizona (CSA) to advance binational projects called “action items.”

Action items are the programs, projects and initiatives developed by the binational co-chairs throughout the year. Action items reflect the priorities of the Governors of Arizona and Sonora and advance the mission of the Arizona-Mexico Commission (AMC). Committee co-chairs regularly update the status on their action items to thier membership, the AMC board of directors, and the Governors of Arizona and Sonora.

The frequency of AMC committee meetings varies depending on the needs of each committee. However, the binational committees meet formally four times a year. Twice a year the committees meet in Arizona at the AMC Spring Inter-Plenary Session and the AMC Summer Plenary Session. The other two meetings are in Sonora, Mexico for the CSA Fall Inter-Plenary Session and CSA Winter Plenary Session.

ForumsCommission membership consists of several hundred public and private sector leaders from throughout Arizona, including state agency directors, corporate executives, small business owners, healthcare and education professionals, lawyers, entrepreneurs, real estate and travel agents, brokers, artists, researchers, bankers, accountants, legislators and other professionals from all aspects of business and public service.

By serving on a committee of choice, members exercise their common desire to contribute to the exchange of ideas and information through cross-border communication and collaboration. Working in coordination with their Sonora-Arizona Commission counterparts, members enjoy the benefits of networking, participating in the facilitation of bilateral initiatives and contributing to the incubation of cross-border projects at the biannual Plenary Session, held each summer in Arizona and each fall in Sonora.

Agribusiness & Wildlife

Arizona

Jack PetersonJack Peterson
Director
Arizona Department of Agriculture
(602) 542-3575
jpeterson@azda.gov
Chris UdallChris Udall
Executive Director
Agri-Business Council of Arizona

Economic Development

Arizona

Sandra WatsonSandra Watson
President & CEO
Arizona Commerce Authority
(602) 771-1222
sandraw@azcommerce.com
Mike HammondMike Hammond
President & CEO
Cushman & Wakefield | PICOR Commercial Real Estate Services
(520) 748-7100
mhammond@picor.com

Education

Arizona

ralph_romeroRalph Romero
Deputy Associate Superintendent
Arizona Department of Education
(602) 542-7462
ralph.romero@azed.gov
Chris BustamanteChris A. Bustamante
President
Rio Salado College

Emergency Management

Arizona

Wendy Smith-ReeveWendy Smith-Reeve
Director
Arizona Division of Emergency Management
(602) 464-6203
wendy.smith-reeve@azdema.gov
LouieLouie Chaboya
Owner
C & C Emergency Response LLC
(520)281-8469
lchaboya@hotmail.com

Energy

Arizona

LeisaLeisa Brug
Director, Energy Office Energy Policy Advisor
Governor’s Office of Energy Policy
602-771-1244
lbrug@az.gov
Rob TaylorRob Taylor
Senior Director, Regulatory Policy
Salt River Project
602-236-3487
rob.taylor@srpnet.com

Environment & Water

Arizona
Michael J. LaceyMichael J. Lacey
Director
Arizona Department of Water Resources
(602) 771-8426
mjlacey@azwater.gov

HenryMisael Cabrera
Deputy Director
Arizona Department of Environmental Quality
(602) 771-2203
e-mail

David RobertsDavid Roberts
Manager, Water Rights
Salt River Project
(602) 236-2343
email

Financial, Business & Legal Services

Arizona

CarlosCarlos Emmermann
Emmermann & Associates
email
Benjamin AguileraBenjamin Aguilera
Partner and Owner
Aguilera International Counsel, L.L.P.
(602) 682-8421
email

Duane FroeschleDuane Ralph Froeschle
President, Arizona & Northern Nevada Division
Western Alliance Bank
email

Health Services

Arizona

Will HumbleWill Humble
Director
Arizona Department of Health Services
(602) 364-3855
humblew@azdhs.gov
William NeubauerWilliam Neubauer
Retired Physician
(520) 444-9048
email

Real Estate

Arizona

Judy LoweJudy Lowe
Commissioner
Arizona Department of Real Estate
(602) 771-7760
jlowe@azre.gov
GaryGary Brasher
President
Brasher Real Estate
(520) 398-9670
aliso4@aol.com

Security

Arizona

GilbertGilbert Orrantia
Director
Arizona Department of Homeland Security
(602) 542-7013
gorrantia@azdohs.gov
Robert HallidayRobert Halliday
Director
Arizona Department of Public Safety
602-223-2359
lstewart@azdps.gov

Sports (Ad-hoc)

Arizona
Richard Saenz
Consultant
The Arizona Diamondbacks
(480) 940-8186
rsaenz7250@gmail.com

Tourism, Arts & Culture

Arizona

Sherry HenrySherry Henry
Director
Arizona Office of Tourism
(602) 364-3703
shenry@azot.gov

robert_bookerRobert Booker
Executive Director
Arizona Commission on the Arts
(602) 771-6534
rbooker@azarts.gov

Felipe GarciaFelipe Garcia
Executive Vice President
Metropolitan Tucson Convention & Visitors Bureau
(520) 770-2132
e-mail

Transportation, Infrastructure & Ports

Arizona

John HalikowskiJohn Halikowski
Director
Arizona Department of Transportation
(602) 712-7227
Director@azdot.gov
Gary Magrino
Board of Directors
Greater Yuma Port Authority
(928) 726-9259
gmagrino@beamspeed.net

Accomplishments

Collaboration Through ArtsWhere: Arizona-Sonora
What: Collaboration through Arts Promotes Community Health
Pillars: Advocacy
The AMC is tackling community health initiatives through its Arts & Culture committee. In partnership with the Arizona Commission on the Arts, the committee has developed a brief residency program to address the subject of obesity and promote healthy living through dance. This program is an example of AMC committee work crossing over. Arts expression through dance promotes preservation of culture while it also promotes health in the community.